On Friday, a 19-year-old male crashed his motorcycle into an SUV and died. Cherokee Sheriff's deputies were dispatched Friday evening to investigate the accident on East Cherokee Drive at Mill Creek Road. The Cherokee Sheriff's Department explained that evidence found at the scene indicated that the motorcycle was traveling at a high rate of speed when it struck the stopped SUV from behind. The teenage driver of the motorcycle was transported to the scene to Wellstar Kennestone Hospital and was ultimately pronounced dead. No one riding in the SUV was injured.
In today's blog, I will discuss the importance of being attentive on the roadway and the possible charges you could face if you are not.
As a Cherokee County DUI Attorney, I am very familiar with traffic citations and penalties. Three traffic offenses I frequently see are speeding, reckless driving, and following too closely. Speeding and reckless driving will each add points to your license. In Georgia, if a driver over the age of 21 accumulates 15 points or more over 24 months, their license will be suspended for six months. For drivers younger than age 21, receiving 4 points will lead to your license being suspended.
Speeding in Cherokee County
Speeding is one of the more frequently charged traffic offenses in Georgia. The effect speeding will have on your license depends on how fast you were going. If you are caught driving less than 15 mph over the speed limit, a conviction for speeding will not be reported to the DDS, and you will not receive any points on your license. 15 to 18 mph over will result in 2 points added to your license, 12 to 23 mph over will add 3 points, 24-33 mph over will add 4 points, and 35+ mph over will add 6 points.
Reckless Driving in Cherokee County
Under Georgia law, reckless driving is defined as any person who drives any vehicle in reckless disregard for the safety of persons or property commits the offense of reckless driving. O.C.G.A. 40-6-390 (a). A conviction of reckless driving will result in 4 points on your driving history. Reckless driving is considered a misdemeanor. Those convicted will receive a fine of up to $1,000 or up to 12 months in jail or both.
Following too Closely in Cherokee County
In a rear end case such as the one discussed above, the default charge is following too closely. Under Georgia Law, OCGA 40-6-49 states: The driver of a motor vehicle shall not follow another vehicle more closely than is reasonable and prudent, having due regard for the speed of such vehicles and the traffic upon and the condition of the highway. Generally, a following too closely ticket will result after a car accident and if you have been drinking, it may serve as probable cause for a DUI arrest. Always be extremely cautious and remember to leave ample room between vehicles.