Marijuana Goes On Sale In the Golden State, Will Georgia Soon Follow?

Posted by Richard Lawson | Mar 07, 2018 | 0 Comments

In recent years a number of states have legalized the use of marijuana for recreational purposes. As of November 2016, one of those states is California. Voters in the Golden State passed Proposition 64 which permits those who are “21 and older to possess, transport, buy, and use up to an ounce of cannabis for recreational purposes and allow individuals to grow as many as six plants.” In addition, it allows “retail sales of marijuana and impose[s] a 15% tax” on the substance. Other parts of the new law permit “adults to walk around with up to an ounce of marijuana, enough to fill a sandwich baggy.” However, though it may be legal to have weed in public, consuming it in public, either by smoking or eating an edible, is generally not allowed.

While Californians have been able to possess and grow a limited amount of marijuana since Prop 64's passage, they were not able to purchase it from retail establishments until this year. As of January 1, 2018 California now allows the sale of pot within the state. According to the Los Angeles Times, the very first business that was issued a license to sell marijuana was a shop located in San Diego. The company, Torrey Holistics, “received two of the first 20 licenses granted by the state Bureau of Cannabis Control.” While the license was actually issued in mid-December it didn't go into effect until the first of the year. The initial licenses that are being issued are temporary, four-month licenses. At some point the Bureau will “require firms to undergo background checks and pay a $1,000 application fee for yearlong permits.”

Though the use and now sale of marijuana is legal, driving while under the influence remains against the law in California. As with alcohol, drivers who are impaired because of marijuana--or any other drug for that matter--can still be arrested and charged with a DUI. In order to drive this point home, just before the New Year, CBS LA reported that freeway signs were displaying the message “Drive high, get a DUI.” These signs were put in place by the California Highway Patrol as part of a campaign to keep drivers who are too stoned to be behind the wheel off the roads.

As of 2018, Georgia has yet to legalize the use of marijuana for any reason, but this could soon change. According to WSB-TV, separate bills have been introduced seeking to make cannabis legal for medical and recreational purposes. Whether these measures make it into law, however, remains to be seen.

Even if both types of marijuana usage do become legal in Georgia, driving while under the influence of this substance will remain against the law. If you have arrested and charged with a DUI-Marijuana in Cherokee County, please do not hesitate to contact the excellent legal team at the Law Offices of Richard Lawson. Let our experienced and knowledgeable Georgia DUI Defense attorneys fight for you. You can reach our office at any time of the day or night by calling (404) 816-444, or you can reach out to us online through our website. Don't fight a Cherokee County DUI charge alone, contact the Cherokee County DUI lawyer today.

About the Author

Richard Lawson

Richard S. Lawson is passionate about intoxicated driving defense. Unlike some attorneys, Mr. Lawson devotes 100% of his legal practice to helping people stand up for their rights against DUI charges. For more than 20 years, Mr. Lawson has dutifully fought for his clients' freedom, resolving more 4,900 impaired driving cases during the course of his career. Today, Mr. Lawson has developed a reputation as a skilled negotiator and continues to help clients by fighting to keep them out of jail.


There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment