A hit and run crash is being investigated by officers in Cherokee. According to reports a driver crashed into a school bus head-on. Then the driver allegedly got out of the vehicle and ran away from the scene on foot.
No one was reported as injured fortunately.
As a DUI Lawyer in Cherokee County, I handle all types of serious traffic violations that relate to DUI in Cherokee County. In today's post, I will outline the offense of hit and run as it is defined by Georgia Law.
Hit and Run in Cherokee County
Hit and run is defined by the Georgia Code as a violation of the statute O.C.G.A. § 40-6-270. The law is as follows:
The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury to or the death of any person or in damage to a vehicle which is driven or attended by any person shall immediately stop such vehicle at the scene of the accident or shall stop as close thereto as possible and forthwith return to the scene of the accident and shall:
(1) Give his or her name and address and the registration number of the vehicle he or she is driving;
(2) Upon request and if it is available, exhibit his or her operator's license to the person struck or the driver or occupant of or person attending any vehicle collided with;
(3) Render to any person injured in such accident reasonable assistance, including the transporting, or the making of arrangements for the transporting, of such person to a physician, surgeon, or hospital for medical or surgical treatment if it is apparent that such treatment is necessary or if such transporting is requested by the injured person; and
(4) Where a person injured in such accident is unconscious, appears deceased, or is otherwise unable to communicate, make every reasonable effort to ensure that emergency medical services and local law enforcement are contacted for the purpose of reporting the accident and making a request for assistance.
The driver shall in every event remain at the scene of the accident until fulfilling the requirements of this subsection. Every such stop shall be made without obstructing traffic more than is necessary.
If such accident is the proximate cause of death or a serious injury, any person knowingly failing to stop and comply with the requirements of subsection (a) of this Code section shall be guilty of a felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by imprisonment for not less than one nor more than five years.
If such accident is the proximate cause of an injury other than a serious injury or if such accident resulted in damage to a vehicle which is driven or attended by any person, any person knowingly failing to stop or comply with the requirements of this Code section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be fined not less than $300.00 nor more than $1,000.00, which fine shall not be subject to suspension, stay, or probation, or imprisoned for up to 12 months, or both.
Hit and run is a very serious criminal offense. However, it is not the only serious offense related to accidents and driving under the influence. Other serious charges include: vehicular homicide in Cherokee County and serious injury by vehicle in Cherokee County. If you or a loved one has been arrested, contact our offices today.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment